To Compete or Not Compete…That is the question!

I am not talking about the Fit for Life Challenge because I am already doing it and do not have any intentions of giving up. I am talking about Competing as a Figure Competitor in the IFBB, NPC or WNFB. These are all Fitness and Figure Competing Shows all throughout the USA.

The Inspiration that has come from this Fit for Life Challenge has really changed my life completely and now plan to be an Inspiration to others here in SA and hopefully around the USA. There are no boundaries to Hope and Inspiration and now that I believe in myself like never before, I plan to continue on this Fitness Journey even after this Fit for Life Challenge is over.

I have never felt healthier and more alive in my life. Like I said before, even though I have been part of the health, fitness and wellness industry pretty much since 1996, I have always been there for others but never for myself. I never made the time to take care of myself, even though I knew the importance, but once you start doing for yourself, then the rest just takes over. It becomes part of you and your life. All it really takes is having a supportive family, setting your priorities and making sure your entire family is also part of this fun journey, eating healthy-even on a budget, and making time to exercise. Of course there are more tips to go along with this and this is why I will make it part of my Guest Speaking Seminars of my group, Inspiration 4 Life. Wow, this is another blog in itself. Like I said before, Fit for Life Challenge has completely done a 360 in my life.

The best part is about the whole Figure and Fitness Competing is, it is nothing new to me. Well at least the competing part is. I have been exposed to this world since 2005 and I have actually helped backstage with the Competitors, here for a Bodybuilding show in San Antonio, back in 2007 and 2008, but never thought I would ever compete. Many of the Athletes have been clients of mine for Massage Therapy. Meagan, my Trainer has also been a Competitor in the past and she has Inspired me to do the same. I have found her to be one of the most influential person in this Industry and I am thankful that she is my Trainer and plan to stick with her on my new journey!

This means I have to step it up a notch, train and work just a little bit harder than usual, but I can finally say this is something that I am now Inspired to do. I look forward to keeping up with this new blog on this journey and competing by next year. It takes hard work and dedication, but with an awesome Trainer like Meagan, and my Faith, all things are possible through Christ who strengthens me. This is one of my favorite scriptures.

So, my question is to everyone, to compete or not to compete, that is the question? You tell me your thoughts if I should continue on and you can continue following me, even after the KSAT 12 Fit for Life Challenge, with Anytime Fitness, is over. No matter what, just actually attempting my dreams makes me a WINNER! If I can do it, so can YOU!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adam McManus
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 12:56:56

    Rita,

    I plan to continue blogging through my total weight loss. I think it’s a great idea that you plan to as well.

    What is involved in the fitness and figure competition?

    What do you have to do?

    — Adam

    Reply

    • San Antonio's Inspiration 4 Life
      Jul 01, 2010 @ 18:17:19

      Hey Adam!
      Blogging will help keep my food diary and work outs on track! I have found out that the most successful competitors log everything they do so that they know what is working and what is not working!

      Figure competitions involve dieting down to about a 12-10% or lower body fat percentage depending on how your body looks once you start dieting down, making sure your muscle symmetry is on point, you have to do quarter turns so you have to practice turns in these 4-5in heels…

      Basically you are competing for the best overall body condition and presentation.

      Fitness involves the same thing as figure but you have to do a choreographed routine with certain strength moves in it such as one armed push ups. A lot of the women that do this have been in gymnastics for years and are very athletic!

      Meagan will be dieting down with me and we might be on the same stage together!

      It will be a wonderful test to see how far I can really push myself! It is very rewarding from what I have seen and heard!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

