How I Almost Lost It All

Hey Everyone!

It has been a while since I last blogged but my computer has been on the fritz!  I wanted to share this story because after reading some of yalls blogs I know we all go through some of the same struggles…Here is how I almost lost it all…literally…

Have you ever felt as if you were living in a dream? Sometimes I feel like this everyday, since the whole, KSAT 12 Fit for Life Challenge with Anytime Fitness has started.  I remember the day I went in for my interview and I was sitting in my chair getting ready for the microphones to be put on me and thinking, is this really happening?  I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry. I had a huge smile on my face, but completely doubting myself and was thinking, “Can I really do this?”  I was mentally preparing myself because great things like this do not happen for me.

At that point in my life, I was going through some issues that I wasn’t sure was I was going to be able to handle, at the same time as this competition.  Although I knew deep in my heart that I really didn’t know what I was getting myself into, I just knew that someone actually believed in me enough , to inspire me to do this competition. The funny part is, that one day when I was heading to church, while I was on the phone contemplating about whether or not to submit my application, there was a weight bench on the side of the road that had fallen out of the truck in front of me! Ok, now I was totally convinced this was a sign from Our Most High and He was telling me that everything was going to be ok. Even after some time had passed, and two hours before the deadline for the contest, I was still doubting myself.

This is the most I have EVER opened up about myself and my life, but it has been the best thing to help me get through this Fit for Life Challenge. After dealing with personal issues, having some bad downtime for business, family issues, financial issues, car issues, computer issues, you name it issues, it was all happening to me!  I was thinking, I don’t have the money to be buying all of these healthy foods! My family is on a budget and we can not afford two types of meals for the week. I have the worst computer ever and posting blogs is like pulling teeth or doing anything on my computer for that matter. So, whenever I had to do anything on the computer, I had to be borrowing others. Not having the money for gas to get anywhere was going to be the biggest issue for me, so had to catch rides whenever I could, but knew that would get old fast. I just felt miserable about myself because I was thinking, “why is this poor Latina, who does not have the means to do this, is even a contestant?“ The first week of this whole contest, I was still in disbelief and not giving my 100%, as a contestant should. I wasn’t happy about myself and had some major decisions to make. So, of course, during my training, I even had a bad attitude because I just didn’t think I would be able to handle it anymore. Don’t get me wrong, I never wanted to give up on the contest, I was just giving up on myself and was not giving my all. I knew I did not want to let my Meagan, my trainer,down, but with my bad attitude about everything and the decisions I had to make, I felt I was about to lose it all.

Well, my face finally hit the floor and I felt as if my world had ended. Meagan tells me that she thinks it is best for me to take care of myself on my troubled end and make the decisions that I need to make, just to help my family and drop out of the competition 1 week in. I felt I didn’t know what to do anymore and this is exactly why I always put myself last when it came to Fitness.  I was too busy doing for others and helping others in this industry, but was not doing it for myself. The best part about all of this was that it was supposed to happen this way! It actually was not the end, but the beginning of a NEW found Rita, that has been lost for 35 years!

This is where we all can breathe and see the light from all this darkness.  I remember when I woke up that next morning, I got on my knees and I began to pray and I called my Pastor and asked for prayer to help me get through some of the tough things I was going through. I knew at that point in my life, I had to inspire and motivate myself to continue to workout as if I were still doing the competition, take my supplements, go for my run and finally just be happy, no matter what. This is when I finally let go of ALL the issues I was going through, the hurt people were putting me through, the crazy decisions I had to make, and finally for once in my life, LOVE MYSELF, for who I AM. I was my own worst enemy.

 

All it took was letting go, believing in myself and allowing my FAITH to take over and not my doubt.  That same evening, my Trainer calls me and tells me that she still thinks I can do this and asked if I thought I could still be able to handle it? The best part was that she didn’t even know my 360 way of thinking and the major prayers that were made that morning, but I knew COMPLETELY, who set me up for the great things that were about to begin from that day forth. I was totally on fire to get Fit for Life and haven’t stopped since. For those who were there during the Obstacle Course Challenge, this is why I was so hyped up, ready and inspired because I knew I could do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13.

By the way, my happy place (which Meagan says to go to when it seems that the pain is unbearable and I cant push myself another rep), when I train and feel the burn, is Disney World! This is where I go mentally through tough work outs and picture my entire family there having the time of our lives. It does help push me when I train because I want to make my Trainer proud of the hard work she is putting in this contest for me.

All of this believe it or not, happened during the first week of competition and felt I almost lost it all and I share this to Inspire any of the other Contestants, who feel they want to give up. If I can do it, anyone can. I now have my whole family supporting me on our one budget for groceries and are all eating healthy with me! I want to Inspire and show families how they too can shop for healthy foods that are inexpensive and how to get fit without being able to afford a gym or a Trainer. I have been so inspired about this whole Fit for Life Contest, that I have finally made my dreams come true and now have my own small studio for my business and moving forward with Inspiration 4 Life! I want to set many positive examples for the people of our communities, especially in the lower income categories. If I can do it, anyone can. I also plan to go back to school in the Fall and finish my degree in, of all wonderful things, Kinesiology. Health, Wellness and Fitness is in my blood, but was just lost for a while and I never really thought to do it for myself, only for others. Well, I was wrong! I plan to live a very long time now because of the Fit for Life Challenge and hope to be a great example and Inspiration, even if I do not win this contest. I am now a winner no matter what!

These are the kind of stories that we need to share because there are others out there who are going through the same things and do not know where to get help or even know where to begin, but through the amazing stories of  the Fit for Life Contestants, we can help save lives. Stayed tuned for more great and Inspiring Stories. Much Love to all!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corina
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 03:55:26

    AMEN! AMEN! & AMEN! Very well said Rita.

    Reply

  2. Meagan Bailey
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 03:56:53

    Well, I guess tough love worked on ya! 😛 sorry we went through some rough times in the beginning but everything happens for a reason huh?

    I love you and I am so very proud of you! You are my sister and best friend! Keep up the awesome work!

    Reply

  3. amauricio2
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 13:19:40

    Hey Rita, I am a fit for life contestant and I wanted to tell you right now that I was very impressed with you run of the competition and the determination on you face really inspires me to work harder so for that I want to thank you !! have a good day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

